Call for Papers

The International Conference on Web Engineering (ICWE) is the premier annual conference showcasing advances in Web Engineering methods, platforms, languages, tools and emerging technologies. 

ICWE aims to bring together researchers and practitioners from various disciplines in academia and industry to tackle research and development challenges in the engineering of Web applications as well as dealing with the far-reaching impact of the Web on media, society and culture.

List of Topics

The 20th edition of ICWE will accept contributions on a wide spectrum of topics related to Web Engineering, including but not limited to the following:

  • Web application modeling and engineering
  • Web mining, big data analytics and knowledge extraction 
  • Semantic Web and Linked Open Data
  • Web crowdsourcing, social and human computation
  • Mobile Web application engineering
  • Web of Things
  • Web composition and mashups
  • Web programming languages, tools and frameworks
    • Web Assembly
  • Microservice and Web API engineering
  • Web user interface design
  • Redecentralization of the Web
  • Web-based learning
  • Quality aspects of Web applications:
    • Accessibility and Usability
    • Security and Privacy
    • Reusability and Composition
    • Mobility and Distribution
    • Performance and Scalability
    • Testability and Quality Assurance
    • Maintainability and Sustainability

Important Dates

  • Abstract submission: Sunday Jan 19, 2020 → Sunday Feb 2, 2020 (Extended)
  • Paper submission: Sunday Jan 26, 2020 → Sunday Feb 2, 2020 (Extended)
  • Paper notification: Fri Feb 28, 2020 → Fri March 6, 2020 (Extended)
  • Camera ready: Thu March 19, 2020
  • Conference: June 9-12, 2020

Submission Guidelines

Research contributions can be submitted in one of the following categories:

  • Full papers: mature, original research contribution. Reported results should be supported by some type of validation, and also include a justification about the choice/suitability of the validation method. In addition, evidence of use in practice and/or demonstration of scalability is regarded as a plus. (16 pages)
  • Short papers: short papers presenting a discussion – analysis, criticism, proposal, etc. – about relevant aspects of Web engineering topics. These papers are intended to generate discussions that promise potential for research that will impact Web engineering in the coming years. (8 pages)

Papers must be formatted according to the information for Springer LNCS authors and submitted in PDF via EasyChair ( Papers submitted to ICWE 2020 must not be under review elsewhere while under consideration for ICWE 2020, nor may have been already previously published elsewhere. Submissions that are not in compliance with the required submission format or that are out of the scope of the conference will be desk rejected without reviewing.

Together with the PDF, also a zipped archive with a self-contained “Web-first” version of the paper in HTML is allowed to be submitted. If accepted, the authors will need to provide Word/Latex sources following the standard Springer LNCS format for the camera read. See more instructions here.

Remember to submit also the Springer Consent to Publish Form:


General Chair

Tommi Mikkonen

University of Helsinki, Finland

Program Co-Chairs

Cesare Pautasso

University of Lugano, Switzerland

Maria Bielikova

Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Slovakia

Program Committee

  • Abhishek Srivastava, Indian Institute of Technology Indore
  • Alessandro Bozzon, Delft University of Technology
  • Alexander Knapp, Universität Augsburg
  • Andrea Stocco, Università della Svizzera Italiana
  • Antero Taivalsaari, Nokia Bell Labs, Finland
  • Ashwin Ittoo, ULiège
  • Carlos Canal, University of Málaga
  • Cesare Pautasso, University of Lugano, Switzerland
  • Christoph Bussler, Google
  • Cinzia Cappiello, Politecnico di Milano
  • Cristina Gena, Department of Computer Science, University of Torino
  • Devis Bianchini, University of Brescia
  • Dickson K.W. Chiu, The University of Hong Kong
  • Domenico Bianculli, SnT Centre University of Luxembourg
  • Epaminondas Kapetanios, School of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Westminster
  • Erik Wilde, CA Technologies
  • Euripides Petrakis, Technical University of Crete (TUC)
  • Filippo Ricca, DIBRIS, Università di Genova  Italy
  • Filomena Ferrucci, Università di Salerno
  • Flavius Frasincar, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Florian Daniel, Politecnico di Milano
  • Gefei Zhang, Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin
  • George Pallis, Dpt. of Computer Science, University of Cyprus
  • Gustavo Rossi, LIFIA-F. Informatica. UNLP
  • Hao Han, Tokyo Tech, NII, Kanagawa U, U of Tokyo, Konica Minolta
  • Harald Sack, FIZ Karlsruhe, Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure & KIT Karlsruhe
  • Hubert Baumeister, Technical University of Denmark
  • Ioannis Anagnostopoulos, University of Thessaly
  • Irene Garrigos, University of Alicante
  • Jan Paralic, Technical University Kosice
  • Jan Hidders
  • Jeffrey Ullman, Stanford University
  • Jose Ignacio Panach Navarrete, University of Valencia
  • Juan Manuel Murillo Rodríguez, University of Extremadura
  • Jürgen Ziegler, University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Kari Systä, Tampere University of Technology
  • Lourdes Moreno, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Manuel Wimmer, Johannes Kepler University Linz
  • Marco Brambilla, Politecnico di Milano
  • Marco Winckler, University Paul Sabatier
  • Marcos Baez, University of Trento
  • Maria Bielikova, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava
  • Maria Esther Vidal, Universidad Simon Bolivar, Dept. Computer Science
  • Maristella Matera, Politecnico di Milano
  • Markel Vigo, The University of Manchester
  • Martin Gaedke, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Martin Johns, TU Braunschweig
  • Matthias Book, University of Iceland
  • Maurício Aniche, Delft University of Technology
  • Maxim Bakaev, Novosibirsk State Technical University
  • Michael Weiss, Carleton University
  • Myriam Arrue, University of the Basque Country
  • Nicola Zannone, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Oscar Corcho, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
  • Oscar Diaz, University of the Basque Country
  • Oscar Pastor Lopez, Universitat Politècnica de València
  • Philipp Leitner, Chalmers | University of Gothenburg
  • Piero Fraternali, Politecnico di Milano
  • Pieter Colpaert, Ghent University
  • Radu Tudor Ionescu, University of Bucharest, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Ralf Klamma, RWTH Aachen University
  • Raphael M. Reischuk, ETH Zurich
  • Richard Chbeir, Univ. Pau & Pays Adour, UPPA/E2S, LIUPPA Anglet, France
  • Santiago Melia, Universidad de Alicante
  • Schahram Dustdar, Vienna University of Technology
  • Sergio Firmenich, LIFIA, Facultad de Informatica, Universidad Nacional de La Plata and Conicet Argentina
  • Stefan Tai, TU Berlin
  • Sören Auer, TIB Leibniz Information Center Science & Technology and University of Hannover
  • Thomas Richter, Rhein-Waal University of Applied Sciences
  • Tomoya Noro, Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd.
  • V. Ramakrishnan, SUNY Stony Brook
  • Vicente Pelechano, Universitat Politècnica de València
  • Werner Retschitzegger, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Information Systems Group
  • Yeliz Yesilada, The University of Manchester
  • Zakaria Maamar, Zayed University, UAE


All questions about submissions should be emailed to

Further information can be found at