Web-Based Learning Track

Web-Based Learning Track papers introduce innovative and insightful descriptions of real-world applications, case studies, implementations, and experiences of using Web-based applications and systems in education.  Moreover, the papers may also challenge the ICWE community to find solutions and stimulate discussion.  (max 8 pages)

Web-Based Learning Track papers will accept contributions related to implementation of on-line learning and teaching support tools that make learning more efficient and help teachers in their challenges. We are inviting authors to submit high quality contributions describing significant, original, and unpublished results in the following topics:

  • Learning Analytics on the Web
  • Massive Open Online Courses (MOOC)
  • Open Educational Resources (OER)
  • Personal Learning Environments (PLE)
  • Semantic Web, Linked Data and Knowledge Graphs
  • Mobile learning on the Web
  • Cloud-based Learning
  • Digital libraries and Web repositories
  • Game-based Learning and Serious Games
  • Mixed Reality for Web Based Learning
  • Web 2.0 and Social Learning Environments

Submission Guidelines

Papers (max 8 pages) must be formatted according to the information for Springer LNCS authors and submitted in PDF via EasyChair (https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=icwe2020). Papers submitted to ICWE 2020 must not be under review elsewhere while under consideration for ICWE 2020, nor may have been already previously published elsewhere. Submissions that are not in compliance with the required submission format or that are out of the scope of the conference will be desk rejected without reviewing.

Together with the PDF, also a zipped archive with a self-contained “Web-first” version of the paper in HTML is allowed to be submitted. If accepted, the authors will need to provide Word/Latex sources following the standard Springer LNCS format for the camera read. See more instructions here.

Remember to submit also the Springer Consent to Publish Form: http://icwe2020.webengineering.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/ICWE2020_Consent_to_Publish_LNCS_SIP.pdf

Important Dates

  • Paper submission: March 1, 2020 (Extended)
  • Paper notification: March 15, 2020 
  • Camera ready: Thu March 23, 2020
  • Conference: June 9-12, 2020

Web-Based Learning Track Co-Chairs

Ralf Klamma

RWTH Aachen University, Germany

Nick Falkner

University of Adelaide, Australia

Terhi Kilamo

Tampere University, Finland

Program Committee

  • Abhishek Srivastava, Indian Institute of Technology Indore
  • Alessandro Bozzon, Delft University of Technology
  • Alexander Knapp, Universität Augsburg
  • Andrea Stocco, Università della Svizzera Italiana
  • Antero Taivalsaari, Nokia Bell Labs, Finland
  • Ashwin Ittoo, ULiège
  • Carlos Canal, University of Málaga
  • Cesare Pautasso, University of Lugano, Switzerland
  • Christoph Bussler, Google
  • Cinzia Cappiello, Politecnico di Milano
  • Cristina Gena, Department of Computer Science, University of Torino
  • Devis Bianchini, University of Brescia
  • Dickson K.W. Chiu, The University of Hong Kong
  • Domenico Bianculli, SnT Centre University of Luxembourg
  • Epaminondas Kapetanios, School of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Westminster
  • Erik Wilde, CA Technologies
  • Euripides Petrakis, Technical University of Crete (TUC)
  • Filippo Ricca, DIBRIS, Università di Genova  Italy
  • Filomena Ferrucci, Università di Salerno
  • Flavius Frasincar, Erasmus University Rotterdam
  • Florian Daniel, Politecnico di Milano
  • Gefei Zhang, Hochschule für Technik und Wirtschaft Berlin
  • George Pallis, Dpt. of Computer Science, University of Cyprus
  • Gustavo Rossi, LIFIA-F. Informatica. UNLP
  • Hao Han, Tokyo Tech, NII, Kanagawa U, U of Tokyo, Konica Minolta
  • Harald Sack, FIZ Karlsruhe, Leibniz Institute for Information Infrastructure & KIT Karlsruhe
  • Hubert Baumeister, Technical University of Denmark
  • Ioannis Anagnostopoulos, University of Thessaly
  • Irene Garrigos, University of Alicante
  • Jan Paralic, Technical University Kosice
  • Jan Hidders
  • Jeffrey Ullman, Stanford University
  • Jose Ignacio Panach Navarrete, University of Valencia
  • Juan Manuel Murillo Rodríguez, University of Extremadura
  • Jürgen Ziegler, University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Kari Systä, Tampere University of Technology
  • Lourdes Moreno, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
  • Manuel Wimmer, Johannes Kepler University Linz
  • Marco Brambilla, Politecnico di Milano
  • Marco Winckler, University Paul Sabatier
  • Marcos Baez, University of Trento
  • Maria Bielikova, Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava
  • Maria Esther Vidal, Universidad Simon Bolivar, Dept. Computer Science
  • Maristella Matera, Politecnico di Milano
  • Markel Vigo, The University of Manchester
  • Martin Gaedke, Chemnitz University of Technology
  • Martin Johns, TU Braunschweig
  • Matthias Book, University of Iceland
  • Maurício Aniche, Delft University of Technology
  • Maxim Bakaev, Novosibirsk State Technical University
  • Michael Weiss, Carleton University
  • Myriam Arrue, University of the Basque Country
  • Nicola Zannone, Eindhoven University of Technology
  • Oscar Corcho, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
  • Oscar Diaz, University of the Basque Country
  • Oscar Pastor Lopez, Universitat Politècnica de València
  • Philipp Leitner, Chalmers | University of Gothenburg
  • Piero Fraternali, Politecnico di Milano
  • Pieter Colpaert, Ghent University
  • Radu Tudor Ionescu, University of Bucharest, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Ralf Klamma, RWTH Aachen University
  • Raphael M. Reischuk, ETH Zurich
  • Richard Chbeir, Univ. Pau & Pays Adour, UPPA/E2S, LIUPPA Anglet, France
  • Santiago Melia, Universidad de Alicante
  • Schahram Dustdar, Vienna University of Technology
  • Sergio Firmenich, LIFIA, Facultad de Informatica, Universidad Nacional de La Plata and Conicet Argentina
  • Stefan Tai, TU Berlin
  • Sören Auer, TIB Leibniz Information Center Science & Technology and University of Hannover
  • Thomas Richter, Rhein-Waal University of Applied Sciences
  • Tomoya Noro, Fujitsu Laboratories Ltd.
  • V. Ramakrishnan, SUNY Stony Brook
  • Vicente Pelechano, Universitat Politècnica de València
  • Werner Retschitzegger, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Information Systems Group
  • Yeliz Yesilada, The University of Manchester
  • Zakaria Maamar, Zayed University, UAE


All questions about submissions should be emailed to icwe2020@webengineering.org.

Further information can be found at https://icwe2020.webengineering.org/.